Letters to the West Virginia University Regarding Depression Article Feedback

The following is a copy of the two letters I have sent to the West Virginia University (see why I'm fighting their stigma here). I have yet to receive a reply. You are welcome to copy and paste any parts that you like and send them yourself. The most voices the better.

Send Your Email to the Newspaper and Other University Staff

I sent this letter to everyone at the paper as well as psychology and journalism heads at the school:

To: 'DAnewsroom@mail.wvu.edu'; 'DAPerspectives@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Alan.Waters@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Tracy.Morris@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Kevin.Larkin@mail.wvu.edu'; 'William.Fremouw@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Maryanne.Reed@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Diana.Martinelli@mail.wvu.edu'; 'CHERUKURI@huffingtonpost.com'; 'Danielle.Faipler@mail.wvu.edu'

CC: 'velasconyc@yahoo.com'; 'DASports@mail.wvu.edu'; 'DAA&E@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Erin.Fitzwilliams@mail.wvu.edu'; 'John.Terry@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Alex.Koscevic@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Mackenzie.Mays@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Lydia.Nuzum@mail.wvu.edu'; 'James.Carvelli@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Ben.Gaughan@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Berry@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Jeremiah.Yates@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Jakob.Potts@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Charles.Young@mail.wvu.edu'; 'DACalendar@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Matthew.Sunday@mail.wvu.edu'; 'DA-Editor@mail.wvu.edu'; 'BoFisher@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Kyle.Hess@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Alan.Waters@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Pam.Dodson@mail.wvu.edu'; 'chris.mcelroy@mail.wvu.edu'; 'Jami.Christopher@mail.wvu.edu'; 'roy.batesr@mail.wvu.edu'; 'danewsroom@mail.wvu.edu'

To the Editors and Management of the Daily Athenaeum as well as the psychology and journalism professionals at West Virginia University,

After a lack of response regarding my prior feedback on the Depression can be treated through lifestyle changes article, I’m forced to again express my extreme disappointment in the handling of this situation.

I would like to encourage the editorial team to take this as an opportunity not only to acknowledge the questionable reporting, but also to help remove stigma from the mental health community. I strongly ask for:

  1. A retraction and correction of the published piece posted online, on Facebook and Twitte
  2. A series of education-focused articles on the mental health services available for WVU students and mental illness stigma
  3. A guest column on mental illness to be published (I would be happy to contribute this)

I am asking for professional journalism behavior as are the hundreds of other people who have read my articles on this subject. I look forward to your reply.

Natasha Tracy

Mental Health Advocate and Writer

http://natashatracy.com

 
disclaimer

The information provided on the PsyWeb.com is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her health professional. This information is solely for informational and educational purposes. The publication of this information does not constitute the practice of medicine, and this information does not replace the advice of your physician or other health care provider. Neither the owners or employees of PsyWeb.com nor the author(s) of site content take responsibility for any possible consequences from any treatment, procedure, exercise, dietary modification, action or application of medication which results from reading this site. Always speak with your primary health care provider before engaging in any form of self treatment. Please see our Legal Statement for further information.

PsyWeb Poll

Are you currently taking or have you ever been prescribed anti-depressants?
Yes
50%
No
50%
Total votes: 3979